Two Quick & Easy Sides – Creamy Butternut Squash & Salsa-Braised Kale

Our CSA box contained some butternut squash and kale this week. These two sides are so easy that I just have to share them.

Creamy Butternut Squash

Peel (with a vegetable peeler), seed, and cube a butternut squash. Heat a large pot 1/2 full of water to boiling and add squash. Reduce heat and simmer until squash is tender, 10-15′.

Drain squash, return to pot, add Greek yogurt and mash with a potato masher until as smooth (or lumpy) as you like.  The amount of Greek yogurt seems flexible. The recipe I started with called for 1/4 cup 2% plain greek yogurt for a 1 1/2 pound squash. My squash was bigger and I used about 1/3 cup of fat-free plain greek yogurt. Original recipe (Clean Eating Magazine, October 2011) called for added salt but I skipped that and went for some cinnamon instead. We love our ‘winter’ spices here!

Salsa-Braised Kale

This one is from Eating Well.  Remove the tough stems from a bunch of cake, chop coarsely.  Heat some olive oil in a large pot.  Toss kale with olive oil until bright green (about a minute).  Stir in a cup of salsa and 1/2 a cup of water, reduce heat, and simmer until kale is tender, about 15′.  That’s it!  The original recipe called for topping it with a bit of cheese but it was great without it.  Hubby has not liked any form of kale I’ve served… until this!  And this was the easiest kale dish I’ve ever made!

I loved my sample issue of Eating Well so much I subscribed!  It will replace the Cooking Light subscription I let lapse.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Do you chop the squash raw? Because mine are usually really hard. I sometimes microwave it for a bit first to soften things up, but then I feel like a wimp.

    I like the salsa idea for kale. It might make it work over here.

    Reply

  2. I need non-dairy recipes here, so the kale one is great. Gonna do that. I have had success with the butternut squash with a bit of OJ and pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon all whipped up– it is drippy, but the children go for it, too, so that’s good. 🙂 Thanks, keep em coming!
    Sarah

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jackie on November 22, 2011 at 9:44 AM

    Going to combine your squash recipe with mine. Like the Greek yogurt idea. Will let you know how it turns out. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

